Highlights - Annual Public Meeting Oct. 2018

AnnualPublicMeeting Oct 2018

Southern Health-Santé Sud 6th Annual Public Meeting was held on October 10, 2018 at the Stride Place in Portage la Prairie

Health System Transformation
What it means and why it's happening

Approximately 90 participants attended and engaged in dialogue about the Health System Transformation… what it means and why it’s happening. Guests included Ian Shaw from the Transformation Management Office and Dr. Brock Wright from Shared Health (Manitoba) who joined a panel along with CEO, Jane Curtis and Southern Health-Santé Sud Board Chair, Abe Bergen. Panelists responded to questions from the audience about health system transformation and the future of health services in Manitoba.

Other highlights

  • update on achievements from the past year
  • 2017-2018 financial overview reporting just over a $3 M excess of revenues over expenses, representing 0.8% of the budget

Chairperson Abe Bergen summed up this past year as the year of ‘connecting’: 

We have been connecting more than ever with counterparts from across the province, making sure our work is connected to the work of other departments, and connecting with our communities and stakeholders as decisions are being made about health services. As always, we want Southern Health-Santé Sud to provide the best care possible for this generation and for those to come. We know we can’t do things the same way we always have and that only through partnerships and collaboration can we achieve positive outcomes. In times of transformation, we know that our purpose is more important than ever: we must provide safe and quality patient care and stay committed to our vision of Together leading the way to a healthier tomorrow. We must also recognize that we are all leaders in times of transformation and the culture and track record of this region can be a very positive influence.    

Jane Curtis acknowledged the professional and hardworking staff in the organization, sharing how she hears many stories in her travels that attest to the passion Southern Health-Santé staff has for people in our care. She also spoke of the resiliency she admires most in so many people she has crossed paths with.

Change is never easy but I have seen you stay focused on your purpose and while still being flexible and adaptable. This is what makes us such a resilient organization during this transformation. Although we often focus on what we lose in times of change, it is more important than ever to recognize the opportunities we have before us. Patient care is absolutely central to this organization and to health care in this province. That will always be our mandate.

Annual Report 2017 18 Thumb

Annual Report 2017-2018

Additional information about Health System Transformation





Quality Service Awards 2018

Recipients live the values of Southern Health-Santé Sud!

Quality Service Awards recipients are nominated by their peers for staff who embody Southern Health-Santé Sud core values of integrity, compassion, excellence and respect. They include four individual awards, as Service Excellence Team award and the Chief Executive Officer Career Achievement Award.

The 2018 Southern Health-Santé Sud Quality Service Award winners:

East Area - April Friesen, Clinical Resource Nurse at Bethesda Regional Health Centre

Mid Area - Pam Durand, Accounting Clerk at the Regional Office - Notre Dame

North Area - Doug Dezeng, Maintenance Staff at the Portage District Health Centre

West Area - Dorothea Sawadski, Health Records Technician at the Altona Community Memorial Health Centre

Chief Executive Officer Career Achievement Award - Patti De Mendarozqueta, Client Services Manager – Rehab Services at the Portage District General Hospital

Service Excellence Team Award - Corporate Communications Team - Team Members: Lorraine Grenier, Kristine Crocker, Maria Siemens & Sylvie Robidoux

QSA Award Recipients 2018

This year’s Quality Service Awards were presented by Jane Curtis, Chief Executive Officer & Abe Bergen, Board Chair. Pictured above are (lt.-rt.) front row:  Pam Durand, Abe Bergen (Board Chair), Jane Curtis (Chief Executive Officer), April Friesen; back row:  Lorraine Grenier, Sylvie Robidoux, Patti De Mendarozqueta & Kristine Crocker. Missing from photo are:  Doug Dezeng, Dorothea Sawadski & Maria Siemens.